Race/PerformanceNordic News

    Kearney, Randall Headline USSA Awards

    Olympic champion Hannah Kearney (Norwich, VT) and cross country star Kikkan Randall (Anchorage) headlined the list of honorees as the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association announced its annual awards. Longtime nordic combined official Joe Lamb (Lake Placid, NY) was selected to receive the Julius Blegen Award, the USSA's highest honor for volunteerism, for his three decades of service to the sport. The awards were presented Friday evening at the annual USSA Congress in Park City.

    Randall was recognized with the Buddy Werner Award for leadership and sportsmanship. She finished third in the World Cup cross country sprint standings, an American women's record, winning two events. She was recognized for her leadership in helping pioneer Fast and Female, an on-snow program to motivate young girls to cross country ski and live an active lifestyle. She was also involved with other athletes in raising support for Japanese relief efforts.

    "I've been incredibly fortunate to be supported by so many amazing people," said Randall. "I, in turn, am passionate about helping young girls discover the benefits of healthy, active lifestyles so that they can feel empowered and confident to chase their dreams."

    "Hannah Kearney's passion to prepare to win allowed her to dominate her sport this season," said USSA Executive Vice President, Athletics Luke Bodensteiner. "Kikkan Randall is a great role model and a leader in her sport. She is inspiring an entire generation of young girls by blazing new trails on and off the cross country tracks."

    The awards were presented at the annual USSA Congress at the Park City Marriott.


    Diamond Award
    Julius Blegen Award Joe Lamb

    Gold Awards
    USSA Development Coach of the Year Award Chris Haslock (Park City, UT)
    USSA Coach of the Year Award Rick Bower (Park City, UT)
    USSA Club of the Year Award Aspen Valley Ski and Snowboard Club
    Beck International Award (top USSA athlete) Hannah Kearney (Norwich, VT)
    Westhaven Award (top USSA official) Jeff Lange (Redmond, WA)

    Silver Awards
    Paul Bacon Award (event organization) Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club, Erik Skinner
    John J. Clair Jr. Award (service to USSA) Bob Dart (Winter Park, CO)
    Bud and Mary Little Award (service to FIS/USOC) Ted Sutton (Lincoln, NH)
    Buddy Werner Award (athlete sportsmanship) Kikkan Randall (Anchorage)
    Russell Wilder Award (service to youth) NASTAR
    USSA J. Leland Sosman Award Dr. William I. Sterett (Vail, CO)
    West Family Award (USSA certified official) Chris Seemann (Winter Park, CO)

    Athletes of the Year
    Cross Country Athlete of the Year Award Kikkan Randall (Anchorage)
    Nordic Combined Athlete of the Year Award Bryan Fletcher (Steamboat Springs, CO)
    Ski Jumping Athlete of the Year Award Peter Frenette (Saranac Lake, NY)

    Coaches of the Year
    Cross Country International Coach of the Year Award Erik Flora (Anchorage)
    Cross Country Domestic Coach of the Year Award Jason Cork (Hayward, WI)
    Ski Jumping/Nordic Combined International Coach of the Year Award Clint Jones (Park City, UT)
    Ski Jumping/Nordic Combined Domestic Coach of the Year Award David McCahill (Lake Placid, NY)

    Clubs of the Year
    Club of the Year Award Alaska Pacific University Nordic Ski Center
    Jumping/Nordic Combined Club of the Year Award Salisbury Winter Sports Club

Subscribe Now

Don't miss a single issue of Cross Country Skier this season. Subscribe here>

Make Snow